let justice and praise become my embrace

figuring out the art of losing myself to better know Him

Refocusing Tuesday, 17 July 07

Filed under: Uncategorized — joyunspeakable @ 9:12 pm

Last night I went out for coffee with a friend. Actually, I had only met her once before, and that was over a year ago… but we have a mutual friend, who ended up re-introducing us and before we knew it, we ended up at the Cheesecake Factory talking for nearly two hours.
I feel like it was one of those moments in life where God becomes so much clearer, and all that once was blurry begins to sharpen, and you begin to really SEE. Anyway, the whole conversation was so refreshing and encouraging, that I just want to share a little piece of the things we discussed.
Being home has been tough at times, boring at other times… but the whole of it, God has felt really distant. Or maybe it’s just that I didn’t want Him to be too close. But last night as we chatted, I realized that God is such a jealous God and that He will literally destroy anything that gets between us and Him. It sounds funny, but often times, it’s quite painful when the things or people in which we’ve put our hope, fail us.
Leaving DTS was a hard transition, mainly because I was constantly surrounded by people there, anytime I experienced God, it was in the presence of other people. And coming home, I am mostly alone. And I think I began to think that maybe I could not experience God by myself. Which is so off, I can’t even begin to tell you…
I’m beginning to see that God likes to kinda pull the rug out from under us, so to speak, so that we will start to depend and rely fully on him. If we are depending on anything or anyone more than we depend on Him, then we have lost sight. And He is so faithful to keep bringing our focus back to Him.
We were created for intimacy with Him.
That is the basic message and motivation behind the Gospel.
God wanted to be intimate with us. We were made for the sole purpose of knowing the One who made us.
How is it that life carries us so far away from our main purpose?
How is it that in the search for our God-given destiny, we sometimes stop seeking the Destiny-giver?
God is a jealous God.
He is after your time, your attention, your heart.
Your entire life.
And I think we’ll find time and time again, that that is the only way we can truly LIVE.
We must keep coming back to the cross. To the Source of our life. Jesus.

Life without him kinda sucks.
If you haven’t found that out yet, sooner or later you will. : )

May you be totally satisfied in Him alone today.

 

2 Responses to “Refocusing”

  1. your English friend Says:

    muah! :0)

  2. Victoria Says:

    I’ve never responded to an article before…
    I woke up this morning with the lyrics, Let Justice and Praise become my Embrace, running through my mind so I thought I’d look up the lyrics on the internet to see what God is saying to me – and I found your comments. I read from the latest ’08 to the one on which I’ve responded. I could have written them myself with a few changes – Africa would read US – but your heart cry when you wrote these is mine today. Thank you for sharing. I needed to be reminded that God is jealous for me. Thank you. I hope that 2/3 years later you have found that deep intimacy for which your heart yearns. May He bless you richly, deep inside, and may you become a cup poured out for Him, our King. He is transforming you into his spotless bride; you are of great beauty, delight and value to him.


Leave a Reply

